• Date: Saturday, 9th Jan 2021
  • Instructor: Cedric Reeves
  • Cost: Sliding scale
    $20 ~ $120

We’ll learn to rest into open awareness. We’ll start with basic concentration practice to settle the mind. Then we’ll do the “what is rest?” practice. The “what is rest” inquiry is similar to Shikantaza, “Do Nothing”, Mahamudra, and Dzogchen. Pointing out type instructions will be given through out the meditation sessions. This will punctuate the restful open awareness practice with moments of investigation.

Who is this for?

  • For anyone who wants to go from insecure to secure attachment.
  • Suitable for anyone new to attachment-work, or is already experienced.
  • People with Insecure Attachment.
  • For anyone who is willing to do the work to get results

Format

  • Program: 10 hours, 30 mins total.
  • Live Online Sessions: The live sessions will be hosted on Zoom. An email with the zoom links will be sent to you after you have registered.
  • Q&A: There will be opportunity to ask questions during the Q&A section.

Attendance & Recordings

  • Partial attendance is fine - however you get best results if you attend all sessions.
  • Late Starts: You can join even after it has started.
  • View at your own pace: The event will be recorded and sent out to registered participants for viewing on your own schedule.

Event Date & Time

The retreat runs for 10 hours, 30 mins total. Partial attendance is perfectly fine.

Saturday, 9th Jan 2021
  • New York 9:00 to 7:30 pm 🌞 (EST)
  • Chicago 8:00 to 6:30 pm 🌞 (CDT)
  • Denver 7:00 to 5:30 pm 🌞 (MDT)
  • San Francisco 6:00 to 4:30 pm 🌞 (PT)
  • Brasilia 10:00 to 8:30 pm (BRT)
  • London 2:00 to 12:30 am 🌞 (BST)
  • Paris 3:00 to 1:30 am 🌞 (CEST)
  • Moscow 4:00 to 2:30 am (MSK)
  • Delhi 6:30 to 5:00 am (IST)

+12h

  • Wellington 1:00 to 11:30 am (NZST)
  • Perth 9:00 to 7:30 am (AWST)
  • Sydney 11:00 to 9:30 am (AEST)

retreat Schedule

Duration Activity
10 mins Lecture
35 mins Guided Meditation
15 mins Q&A

We will be doing deep work. For that reason please feel free to take a break at any point.

retreat Overview

This program is suitable for beginners to meditation and healing work.

We’ll learn to rest into open awareness. We’ll start with basic concentration practice to settle the mind. Then we’ll do the “what is rest?” practice. The “what is rest” inquiry is similar to Shikantaza, “Do Nothing”, Mahamudra, and Dzogchen. Pointing out type instructions will be given through out the meditation sessions. This will punctuate the restful open awareness practice with moments of investigation.

Practice Technique

The suggested practice is the inquiry “What is rest?”. But other practice options will be given as well.

Second Lecture plus guided meditation

Lecture on emptiness with further discussion of practice.

Walking Meditation

Brief walking meditation instruction will be offered. Most hours will consist of a 20 minute walking meditation session and a 40 minute seated meditation session. Also self-guided yoga can be done in lieu of walking meditation during those 20 minute periods. It’s also fine to take a break during the walking periods.

Yoga (optional)

Cedric will guide an hour long Yoga session. The Yoga routine will be made up of two sequences. The first is based on the “how to grow a lotus” sequence which is specifically designed to help with long meditation sitting. The second sequence is Tibetan Sun Moon Yoga. This Yoga routine is from the Mahamudra lineage. This was taught to me by a Mahamudra master. This practice supports deep meditative experience.

This retreat is suitable for beginners.

Inquiry can be weird at first. People get it more quickly once they have a background of meditation. So for that reason it is better suited for intermediate meditators with at least 100 hours of meditation.

Partial attendance, coming and going, etc.

You can come and go whenever you like based on your availability and interest. The Europeans likely can’t attend the full retreat. Full participation will yield the most powerful result, however.

Miscellaneous Notes

The schedule is similar to a Zen retreat schedule.

We’ll chant the Hakuin’s Song of Zazen at the beginning and end of the day. https://www.thezensite.com/ZenTeachings/Translations/Song_of_Zazen.htm

We'll do a guided forgiveness meditation at the beginning of the retreat to soften the mind.

At the beginning of each sit we’ll chant the Mantra “gate gate para gate para sam gate bodhi svaha!”. This means "Gone, gone, gone totally gone, enlightenment, svaha!” Chanting is very powerful and strongly recommended. It's helps us drop into the subtle mind more quickly.

There will be time for Q&A and spot coaching during the live event. The Q&A recording will not be made available thereafter. If you do not attend live, you will not have access to the Q&A.

We will be doing deep work. For that reason please feel free to take a break at any point.

Who is this for?

This program is for those of us who...

  • is looking to improve their psychological health, especially those who have tried other healing modalities with disappointing results.
  • has problems with exploration and self development, relationships and emotional regulation
  • wants to optimise their psychological health
  • wants to understand the early foundations of their psychological development

Healing Together

Shared interest and social support can make meditation practice, study, and healing much easier. Make friends in the course on the slack channel and invite friends who you think could benefit to participate in the course.

Frequently Asked Questions

About Participation

Once you sign up, an email will be sent out to you with a Zoom link. It will allow you to access the live classes. A free Zoom account is necessary, and Zoom needs to be installed on your computer before the event starts.
No, this course is open to anyone, regardless of your familiarity with attachment theory or prior meditation experience.
Yes, and in fact we highly encouraged you to do both.

Payment Questions

If for any reason you aren’t satisfied, simply contact us and we will send you a full refund.
If you are experiencing troubles with your payment, simply contact us and we will get back to you as soon as we can.

Technical Questions

The recordings will be made available as video and also as audio-only.

If you are experiencing any technical issues relating to accessing the material or live sessions, please get in touch with us. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

We can be reached with our online contact form.

Testimonials

This is what participants of prior retreats have to say:

J.

Great retreat, thank you so much Cedric. There is something special about Tonglen and using it with the schemas feels so healing. I feel hopeful and inspired to keep working with Tonglen.

J.

Cedric I would just like to say thanks for your wisdom and knowledge of attachment issues and repair. The work you are doing really helps me and I have never come across anything as transformative for me as your meditations. Thank you so much.

M.

Thank you for this beautiful retreat. Feels like this is what I needed in the moment.

Dani

Thank you for continuing to make these classes. When I am able to attend, they make a really positive contribution to my mental health :)

Share this Event

Share this page with anyone you know who would be interested and would benefit from participating.

Registration

Registration has closed.

Leave a Reply

Please note: What is on offer here is meditation coaching, not psychotherapy or counseling.